Seymour celebrates the 2021 football season


Seymour’s football team gathered at the Pines Evergreen Room on Thursday night to celebrate their 2021 season.

The Owls went 4-6 and played in the sectional championship game at New Albany, and they found themselves within 10 seconds of playing in the regional.

“At the end of October we were playing our best football,” said head coach Tyson Moore. “We knew how close we were and wanted it more. “

Moore remembers the vibe the following Monday after Seymour’s season ended. In the past, players were happy that the season was ending, but not this year. The team went out to lift in the weight room. They didn’t want the season to end.

It was a good feeling for Moore to have as a coach, and it got him excited for the future.

Seymour made progress from 2020 to 2021. The Owls saw a 40% increase in passing play, a 20% increase in ground run, scored 50% more than the previous season, and lowered the rate. 50% rotation.

“It’s exceptional,” said Moore.

Another highlight of Seymour’s season was when the Owls beat Columbus East for the first time in 96 conference games.

They had 13 freshmen or sophomores playing at college on Friday nights, which Moore says is almost unheard of.

After recapping the season, Moore and his team handed out individual season awards.

Kyle Hileman won the Junior College Offensive Player of the Year award, and the JV Defensive Player of the Year was Jackson Brock.

The varsity defensive player of the year was Cameron Klakamp, ​​who led the team in assisted tackles, sacks and loss tackles with 12 of them.

College offensive player of the year went to quarterback Bret Perry.

The Owl Prize went to Carlos Ortiz.

Finally, the MVP award went to Jaylan Johnson, who has had an exceptional season on both sides of the ball. Johnson recorded 60 receptions and was ranked 13th in the nation’s tight end by Max Preps when the season was over.

He also had 39 tackles (third on the team), eight TFLs, one sack and two fumble recoveries. Johnson has played 98% of Seymour’s snaps this season.

Moore also presented Max Preps awards, which went to Javier Perez (special teams), Perry (offensive), Klakamp (defensive) and Johnson (stats).

Perry, Johnson, and Klakamp all won First Team of All Conferences and Cory Robinson won Second Team of All Conferences.

Alex Martinez, Treyton McCormick, Sam Allman, Ben Kriete, Grant Smith, and Evan Smith all scored at least 3.5 GPAs to earn recognition for academic excellence, and Robinson and Alex Schlatterer both scored 4.0 GPAs. .

It has been a solid season for the Owls who have seen a lot of ups and downs, but the momentum Seymour built over the final month of the season will be valuable for years to come.

“We have built something for the future,” Moore said. “We are building on this, and there are great things to come. “


Comments are closed.